March 31st at 4:58PM

BREAKING: Barack Obama's Website Assassinated

POSTED BY: CubbyChaser

As if we needed another reason to doubt Barack Obama's ability to keep us safe from insomniac Islamofascists, at appears that now he can't even keep his website safe from cyber-terrorists...

A super-secret Wonkette operative informs us that Obama's campaign recently purchased Hope.net and was set to launch the site before getting foiled by MALICIOUS HACKERS."

After getting the domain and setting it up, well...that shit got hacked and they don't know how/why and they can't fix it," our informant writes. After loading, the page displays some Obama-mocking graffiti and all links redirect to Hillary Clinton's site.

The e-surgents who hacked Obama's Hope.com website, splattered the following message in blood (or red pixels, I guess) across an otherwise peaceful image of the candidate and his family...

SPREAD THE WORD! BARACK OBAMA HAS NO SECURITY ON HIS WEBSITE! WILL HIS ADMINISTRATION HAVE NO SECURITY?

A chilling question indeed.

16 Comments
  1. God you people are retarded (and I mean no offense to retarded people with the comparison to you). First of all, it's April Fool's day.

    Secondly, Obama's campaign wouldn't consciously switch to Hope.net all of a sudden after using BarackObama.com for the first year of the campaign.

    As for the commenter who said "Hope for Change" sounds like it's Obama's campaign? Moron. Obama's campaign is "Obama for America."

    From HOPE.net just a few months ago: "HOPE stands for Hackers On Planet Earth"

    (http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.hope.net)

    by joincomedycentra1 April 1st at 2:41PM
    (Report This Comment)
  2. I thought this sounded like a bogus story when I first read it. If Obama had been using a "hope.com" or "hope.net" I would have heard about it before.

    Having read what people have posted about it, it is sounding more like a publicity stunt by a cyber squatter who thinks the time is right for selling a domain name for big $$$.

    by bearness April 1st at 1:14PM
    (Report This Comment)
  3. Not to mention, if you google "hope.net" it only shows up on the second page of search results. If it had been on flyers and tv ads it would be ranking much higher.

    by flobbygoat April 1st at 11:30AM
    (Report This Comment)
  4. So, I'm an Obama voulenteer in PA and I assure you, not a damn thing says hope.net. The only site on all the literature is barackobama.com. Same as in every other primary thus far.

    Also, if you do a whois on that doman you see it's owned by someone named Bill Burton. And if you pull the name Bill Burton up on opensecrets.org you see they've maxed out a primary donation to Clinton, come close to maxing out a general election donation, and also donated a good deal of cash to the democratic party of Arkansas despite living in Texas.

    So, connect the freaking dots. She might not have requested it be done, but her surrogates and financial backers certainly did.

    (oh, and the word on the street in Erie, PA? Senator Clinton... she's not so popular these days. Less so when us Buffalo, NY voulenteers show pictures of the second poorest city in the US and talk about everything she promised us eight years ago in her senate run... when we barely cracked the top-10 poorest list)

    by kellyhelene April 1st at 9:29AM
    (Report This Comment)
  5. I just think its funny that the democrats are busy hacking each others websites instead of putting on a good campaign. just one more reason to vote republican

    by evolniki716 April 1st at 1:14AM
    (Report This Comment)
  6. As stated by others, this site is not and has never been affiliated with the Senator Obama or his campaign. Simple facts, not hearsay: this domain name has been owned by the same entity since May 24, 1994. Its records were updated on March 26 - that means that something like contact information or nameserver information has been changed in the past 5 days.
    Any other talk of having received pamphlets for this site would be hearsay at best. It is simple and provable fact that this site is not affiliated with the Obama campaign.

    by bitspace March 31st at 11:48PM
    (Report This Comment)
  7. That still doesn't address the TV ads. Are you suggesting a group of hackers paid hundreds of thousands of dollars for TV advertising just to support a hoax?

    by barclay227 March 31st at 11:16PM
    (Report This Comment)
  8. from whois. check out the domain servers... 216.66.24.2 is the one for the hacker magazine site.

    Administrative Contact, Technical Contact:
    Burton, Bill eq2g65yj3sb@networksolutionsprivateregistration.com
    ATTN: HOPE.NET
    c/o Network Solutions
    P.O. Box 447
    Herndon, VA 20172-0447
    570-708-8780

    Record expires on 25-May-2013.
    Record created on 24-May-1994.
    Database last updated on 31-Mar-2008 22:53:13 EDT.

    Domain servers in listed order:

    NS1.HOPE.NET --- 216.66.24.2 ---
    NS.NAH6.COM

    by nedreck March 31st at 11:03PM
    (Report This Comment)
  9. How do you explain the flyers then? And all the TV ads with http://WWW.HOPE.NET plastered all over them that they've been flooding us with the past couple of days? You don't know what you're talking about.

    by barclay227 March 31st at 11:01PM
    (Report This Comment)
  10. I say hoax. It wouldn't be hard to fake a claim that you were an obama site. I'm also not familiar with hope.com as his site (instead of barackobama.com, which is not "hacked")

    by Patchell March 31st at 10:35PM
    (Report This Comment)

Leave a Reply

*
To prove that you're not a bot, enter this code